Thursday Quotables: Pivot Point

Image

Thursday Quotables is a weekly meme hosted by Bookshelf Fantasies highlighting a great quote, line, or passage discovered during your reading each week. 

Image

My quote for today is from Kasie West’s Pivot Point, which I read yesterday. I found the book itself surprisingly good, and this one quote really jumped out at me:

When I read, I feel emotional all on my own. Emotion no living person is making me feel. To me, it almost seems more real, because I know that those characters can’t influence me with any power.

In the context of this book, of course, what the main character Addie is trying to say is that when reading, she knows that no one’s influencing her with their mind powers. But as an avid reader, it’s easy to understand what she’s saying, about how words can have such sway over emotions. How many times have you cried over a book, right? To me, it’s awe-inspiring that words can make me feel so strongly.

What’s your most memorable quote for today?

4 thoughts on “Thursday Quotables: Pivot Point

  1. Lisa says:

    I really like this quote! I haven’t read the book (although I keep hearing good things!), so without the context of the actual story, I appreciate how it captures the power of books to make us feel. I think anyone who has cried or swooned over a fictional character can relate! Really great choice. 🙂

    • suzelovesbooks says:

      Thanks! The book was pretty good – not great, mind you, but enjoyable all the same. And the quote struck me as very relatable. I thought it was a good pick 🙂 thanks again!

  2. Greg says:

    Interesting quote. It is amazing sometimes how a book can cause us to feel such emotions. This book looks intriguing, I’ve read the blurb before and thought it was a very interesting premise. It appears she has some tough choices to make.

    • suzelovesbooks says:

      Exactly.
      Well, to be honest, the book wasn’t all that great. Don’t keep your expectations too high! I’d give it three stars, I think.

Got something to say?

