Top Ten New to Me Authors of 2013

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

For this week’s Tuesday, we’re listing the new authors we came across in 2013. Here are mine:

  1. Kai Meyer. As I don’t speak German in any way, I think it’s understandable that I never heard of Kai Meyer before this year. But his Arcadia series – and several other books – have been translated into English, and I absolutely LOVE Arcadia.
  2. Kerstin Gier. I seem to be doing a lot of this German-translated reading these days haha. But Kerstin Gier’s another bestselling German author, and I’m glad I heard about her books. I heard her new series is coming out sometime soon in English, and I can’t wait to check it out!
  3. Sarah J Maas. I loved Throne of Glass, and I still have to get around to Crown of Midnight – but I love Sarah J Maas’s writing! Also can we talk about how drop-dead gorgeous she is.
  4. Sarah Dessen. I know, it’s ridiculous that I never heard of her before this year. I was never really into contemporary before, but reading Sarah Dessen changed that for me.
  5. Lisa Mantchev. I feel like I’m the only person I know who’s read the Théâtre Illuminata series, which is so unfortunate because I really need to talk about those books with someone. The story captivated me from the start!
  6. Marissa Meyer. Not only is Marissa Meyer a constant inspiration since Cinder was a NaNoWriMo novel, but I lovelovelove her writing.
  7. Jennifer E. Smith. Gosh, her books are adorable. They’re perfect for when I need to curl up and just read something happy.
  8. Jay Asher. Thirteen Reasons Why was wonderful. Brilliant. All the positive adjectives!
  9. Rainbow Rowell. I still have to get around to reading Eleanor & Park, but I could really relate to Fangirl – no surprise there, huh?
  10. Catherynne M. Valente. Now here’s someone who writes like magic. Deathless left me speechless.

Which authors have you stumbled upon this year?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten New to Me Authors of 2013

    • suzelovesbooks says:

      I know, I really liked ‘Throne of Glass’! I should get around to reading ‘Crown of Midnight’… SOON. Thanks haha! I think it’s mostly because I read a lot this year… so a lot of new authors!

Got something to say?

