First Book of the Year!

1a

Maybe it’s a good thing I didn’t send a picture of my first read over to Sheila at Book Journey for her first book of the year event, because the book I planned to read (The Tournament by Matthew Reilly) turned out to be… well, not my first book of the year! I happened to pick up this little wonder, and then I was totally hooked about two chapters in.

17573559

 

It’s time to meet your new roomie.

When East Coast native Elizabeth receives her freshman-year roommate assignment, she shoots off an e-mail to coordinate the basics: television, microwave, mini-fridge. That first note to San Franciscan Lauren sparks a series of e-mails that alters the landscape of each girl’s summer — and raises questions about how two girls who are so different will ever share a dorm room.

As the countdown to college begins, life at home becomes increasingly complex. With family relationships and childhood friendships strained by change, it suddenly seems that the only people Elizabeth and Lauren can rely on are the complicated new boys in their lives . . . and each other. Even though they’ve never met.

Roomies was amazing, and I don’t say this lightly. I don’t have time right now, but I’ll definitely write up a review soon! I loved it!

26 thoughts on “First Book of the Year!

    • suzelovesbooks says:

      If it wasn’t such a great read, I wouldn’t have managed to 🙂 and yes, I’d recommend it to anyone who’s in/heading to college, although the book itself is set in the summer before. Happy New Year, I hope you enjoyed your first as much as I did mine!

    • suzelovesbooks says:

      It’s just as good as it sounds. And yes, I’m glad it explores friendship, because a lot of YA novels are too busy with romance for that /:

    • suzelovesbooks says:

      Thanks so much! Oh, yeah, you definitely should; ‘Roomies’ is excellent. It doesn’t quite have a college setting, it’s more in-between. I loved ‘Fangirl’, can’t wait to see what you think of it!

Got something to say?

