Waiting on Wednesday: The Winner’s Curse

New WoW

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine spotlighting upcoming releases.

This week, I’m waiting on The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski! I’ve been excited about this book ever since I saw some Goodreads ARC reviews of it – it certainly seems promising! Can’t wait!

16069030-the-winner-s-curse

Winning what you want may cost you everything you love
As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions. One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin. But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined. Set in a richly imagined new world, The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski is a story of deadly games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.

Yeah, it sounds cliche, but I HAVE HOPE! Just read some of the most popular reviews, you’ll know what I mean. Also, you can read an excerpt here!

The Winner’s Curse is expected to release on March 4th, 2014.

Also: special mention to Heartless by Marissa Meyer; this was going to be my WoW pick, but I thought I’d wait a while since it didn’t have a cover or a proper blurb. Although, can I just say I’m crazy excited about it!

2 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: The Winner’s Curse

  1. ReadAtAllHours says:

    Hreat choices. I’ve seen so much love for this book everywhere, put it on the reading list too. Hope it lives up to my expectations. As for Heartless, don’t even have to hesitate there! 🙂

    • suzelovesbooks says:

      The excerpt sounds good too – I can’t wait! And yes, you can never go wrong where Marissa’s concerned 🙂

Got something to say?

