Top Ten All-Time Favourites in High Fantasy

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Think castles and kings and queens and political intrigue! Think sorcerers and priestesses and assassins! High fantasy will forever be my favourite genre to read. And despite the fact that I adore Tolkien, here’s a list of my favourite non-elves-and-dwarves high fantasy. It’s got both adult and YA thrown in there, yay!

  1. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. Maybe you’ve watched the gorgeous, wonderful Studio Ghibli adaption of this book. It’s one of my favourite books ever because of its readability. I think anyone can read it and love it! And I’ve certainly done that… multiple times.
  2. A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin. Funny story, my iPod shuffle brought up the theme song for the TV show just as I was typing this out. Every fantasy fan knows these books, and I think very few of them don’t like it. It’s insane in its… wonderfulness? Words escape me. It has a brilliant cast of characters, a thrilling plot, and a writer who isn’t afraid to kill everything you love! What more could one want?
  3. The Black Magician Trilogy by Trudi Canavan. So good. A complex, corrupt world, a heroine you will love, and magic that’s so well-written.
  4. Abhorsen series by Garth Nix. Such an interesting world, brilliant main characters, and a magic system that’s so creative it will blow your mind.
  5. Stravaganza by Mary Hoffman. Let me tell you something, I have been reading these books since I was a ‘big’-book-starved ten-year-old, and they do not disappoint. At all. Ever. It’s got alternate universes, Renaissance Italy… Renaissance Italy. Need I say more. For every history buff in the making.
  6. His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman. Yeah, they’re about kids, but that doesn’t make them any less awesome. More alternate universes! So engaging in every way possible.
  7. His Fair Assassin by Robin LaFevers. This leans more towards the historical side, and can get a little heavy, but it’s so good anyway!
  8. Mirrorworld by Cornelia Funke. I’ve talked about this enough. You know how much I love it.
  9. Bartimaeus Sequence by Jonathan Stroud. All the hoorays to this series.
  10. The Kingkiller Chronicle by Patrick Rothfuss. Okay, I’ll admit, this shouldn’t be on my list because I haven’t read it. But I love it already, so sue me.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten All-Time Favourites in High Fantasy

  1. anotherafterthought says:

    Great list! I think I haven’t dabbled too much into high-fantasy because I’ve played so many console/online games of this nature listing exactly what’s in your brief. Though I do agree with you on Howl’s being one of those movies (or books) that everyone should see/read!

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts
    My TTT This Week.

    • suzelovesbooks says:

      I can see why the idea might lose its novelty after a while, but there are a whole load of high fantasy novels that might surprise you with their originality! Yes, I recommend HMC to everyone on a regular basis, haha.

Got something to say?

