Top Ten Kick-Ass Heroines

Screen Shot 2014-10-13 at 4.29.10 pm

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a freebie, and as I was scrolling down the (endless) top tens wondering what to pick, this one jumped out at me. Who doesn’t love kick-ass heroines? And what I like is that not all main girls have to take to sword and fists to be kick-ass. Most YA ‘kick-ass’ heroines are your usual tough-girl mould – which is great. Of course! But I think that there are so many ways to write kick-ass heroines, and what makes reading about them fun is that (like normal people) they’re not the same. That’s why I have some of the usual suspects on my list (hello, Rose Hathaway) but some others that wouldn’t immediately be labelled as kick-ass. But enough rambling. Here are some of my favourite badass heroines.

  1. Penryn from Penryn & the End of Days. Penryn is hands-down one of my favourite MCs ever. She’s hilarious, smart, loyal, and can certainly take care of herself.
  2. Cinder from The Lunar Chronicles. Cinder’s tough as nails (no pun intended; she’s a cyborg) and just the kind of heroine I’d root for all the way.
  3. Cammie from Gallagher Girls. All right, let’s ignore the first book (I always do) and Cammie’s pretty much the badass. A spy-in-training, she’s an expert at blending in and plotting little conspiracies with her fabulous friends.
  4. Kestrel from The Winner’s Trilogy. As I mentioned, Kestrel’s one of the non-fighting badasses. She’s wickedly smart and strategical, and that’s what I love about her.
  5. June from Legend. I feel like June’s outshone by her co-MC Day a lot. But she’s a crazy fighter, smart, and daring. I love her to bits.
  6. Rose from Vampire Academy. Rose is loyal to the end, a brilliant fighter, and at times, too reckless for her own good. She’s pretty much the quintessential YA badass.
  7. Suze from The Mediator. One of the few Meg Cabot characters that isn’t made straight from the mould. Suze is kickass and funny, and the most entertaining ghost hunter ever.
  8. Sophie from Howl’s Moving Castle. I will never stop raving about Sophie. She never physically kicks ass, but she holds her own. In fact, she’s probably my favourite heroine ever.
  9. Lirael from Abhorsen. Though she isn’t in the first book, I fell in love with Lirael at first sight. Her adventures in necromancy (not what it sounds like, I swear) are so epic.
  10. Kat from Heist Society. Kat’s amazing – a master thief, insanely smart, and great at getting into small spaces. Her cons are the best escape from the real world.

Who are your favourite kick-ass heroines?

Got something to say?

