Top Ten Books I’d Discuss With My Book Club (If I Had One)

Screen Shot 2014-10-13 at 4.29.10 pm

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

We all have those books that we’d love to chat about for days on end – and what better way to do that than with a book club? Although I feel like one of those super-meaningful, hipster book clubs would throw me out.

I totally read this month’s. Ha. Hahahaha.

This is probably why my school’s book club is kind of iffy for me. I couldn’t read too much deep stuff – I’d have to lighten things up a bit! Here are ten books I would pick out for certain.

  1. Fault Line by Christa Desir. Not your average ‘issues’ contemporary. Fault Line is intense, scary, and real. It doesn’t shy away from the ugly truth.
  2. Seraphina by Rachel Hartman. This is a lighter pick, but, like I mentioned in my review, Seraphina is a really, really smart book. It’s lovely for casual reading but I’d also really like to dig deeper.
  3. Deathless by Catherynne M. Valente. This book will be one of my favourites forever. I’d pick it just to force other people to read it! And that’s not even counting how gorgeous it is.
  4. Northern Lights by Phillip Pullman. Move aside, movie. Northern Lights is one of those YAs that adults need to read. It’s original, clever, and oh so heartbreaking. Just my type!
  5. In The Woods by Tana French. I cannot believe I hadn’t heard of these books before this year. In The Woods blew me away, and it definitely has a Gone Girl-esque mindblown quality to it.
  6. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. Let’s face it, you knew this was coming. I need more people to discuss this book with!
  7. Gone by Michael Grant. Because Lord of the Flies is a bit overdone, why not a modern book with several similarities?
  8. White Cat by Holly Black. Man, did I love this book. It’s edgy, smart, and Holly Black’s best.
  9. The Mad Scientist’s Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke. This one really made me think.
  10. The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch. Uh, duh. Hilarious, epic, smart. What more do you want? I loved this to bits.

What books would you gush over with your book club?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’d Discuss With My Book Club (If I Had One)

Got something to say?

