Mini Reviews #4: NetGalley Round-Up

recite-192w31p

Here’s a set of reviews for some of my recent ARCs – Bleeding Earth by Kaitlin Ward; My Best Everything by Sarah Tomp; and Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman, the sequel to Seraphina!

Bleeding Earth by Kaitlin Ward
Read: Jan 22nd-23rd, 2015
Genre: dystopian 
Rating½

I received this free review copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

This book definitely gave off Life As We Knew It vibes—a family enduring a slow apocalypse, the trials of everyday survival, and how humanity falls apart when things get really rough. I really appreciated the lesbian couple! And the author clearly isn’t afraid of shying away from gory subjects. I do really like the slow-apocalypse idea, because I think it’s more realistic, but I felt like the whole blood-appearing thing wasn’t so plausible. It’s still an enjoyable read, though, and definitely different from the trendy dystopians you see everywhere.

My Best Everything by Sarah Tomp
Read: Feb 8th-9th, 2015
Genre: contemporary
Rating: 

I received this free review copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

This was…interesting, to say the least. I don’t think I’ll ever come across a book where making and selling moonshine is the main storyline. The book is kind of like a long letter addressed to the love interest, though, and there are some pretty abrupt transitions between the story and some weird dreamy interludes about the love interest. Which got… annoying. But I’d say it was fairly entertaining overall, even if the premise is quite cliché.

Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman (Seraphina, #2)
Read: Feb 6th, 2015
Genre: high fantasy
Rating: ½

I received this free review copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

So just to be clear, this was an amazing ending to the Seraphina series. But compared to Seraphina, Shadow Scale wasn’t that good. That is to say, it’s more plot-driven than character-driven, which took away from the really amazing relationships. I wish the romance had had the time to blow me away, the way it had in Seraphina. But you can’t always get what you want 😦 Nevertheless, I really loved Shadow Scale and I can’t wait to see what Rachel Hartman writes next!

Got something to say?

