Top Ten New-To-Me Favourite Authors from 2015

Screen Shot 2014-10-13 at 4.29.10 pm

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

2015 brought with it loads of amazing reads, and many authors I’d never read before. Here are my favourites!

  1. Naomi Novik (Uprooted). Uprooted was possibly my favourite read this whole year; I’d heard of Naomi Novik’s Temeraire books before, but I never gave her a try until now.
  2. Noelle Stevenson (Nimona). Apparently Nimona was all the rage online for a long time, but I didn’t hear of it until very recently, after which I read the one-chapter preview. Of course, I dropped everything and raced to get it. And you should too.
  3. Jennifer Lynn Barnes (The Fixer). I’d been on the fence about whether or not I should read her first series, The Naturals. But now that I loved The Fixer, I’ll totally give it a shot.
  4. Courtney Summers (Cracked Up To Be & All The Rage). I read two Courtney Summers books this year, and I really wish I’d read her stuff before! Her writing is so raw and unafraid.
  5. Anuja Chauhan (Those Pricey Thakur Girls). Listen, I don’t care if you’re not Indian and you won’t get half the desi jokes in this book, you need to read Anuja Chauhan’s novels. I binge-read three of them this year.
  6. Joe Abercrombie (Shattered Sea series). OK, the last book of this series was a bit of a disappointment. But Joe Abercrombie’s fantasy novels are absolutely brilliant, and I’m so glad I picked them up.
  7. Kara Taylor (Prep School Confidential series). Anyone who reads this blog on a regular basis is tired of my harping about how great Kara Taylor’s books are.
  8. Tana French (Dublin Murder Squad series). Even if the last mystery novel you read was an Agatha Christie two years ago, I promise you that you’ll love Tana French as much as I did.
  9. Morgan Matson (Since You’ve Been Gone & Second Chance Summer). The latter was…unremarkable, but Since You’ve Been Gone was such an amazing read!
  10. Barry Lyga (I Hunt Killers). I’m so glad I picked up this book, because boy, can Barry Lyga tell a (creepy, psychological, super-disturbing) story!

Which new authors did you discover and love this year?

Got something to say?

