The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson


recite-gpp2v6 

Author: Morgan Matson
Series: Standalone
Read: May 15th-16th
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Release Date: May 3rd, 2016
Genre: contemporary
Rating:

In short: The Unexpected Everything is just what I expected—funny, heartbreaking, and so, so readable.

GoodreadsAndie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?

Continue reading

Advertisements

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken


recite-gpp2v6 

Author: Alexandra Bracken
Series: Passenger (#1)
Read: January 22th-26th
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Release Date: January 5th, 2016
Genre: time travel, historical fiction
Rating:

In short: Passenger is one of the few time travel books I like, with a great cast of characters to boot!

Goodreadspassage, n.
i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes.
ii. A journey by water; a voyage.
iii. The transition from one place to another, across space and time.

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them— whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are play­ing, treacherous forces threaten to sep­arate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home . . . forever.

Continue reading

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia


recite-gpp2v6

Author: Francesca Zappia
Series: Standalone
Read: November 12th-15th
Publisher: Greenwill Books
Release Date: May 19th, 2015
Genre: contemporary
Rating:

In short: an adorable and quirky story with a hilarious (and unreliable!) narrator; this book was the opposite of my expectations.

GoodreadsReality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar.

Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.

Funny, provoking, and ultimately moving, this debut novel featuring the quintessential unreliable narrator will have readers turning the pages and trying to figure out what is real and what is made up.

Continue reading

Up Till Dawn Reading Uprooted by Naomi Novik


recite-q463c6

recite-gpp2v6

Author: Naomi Novik
Series: Standalone
Read: October 19th-20th
Publisher: Del Rey
Release Date: May 19th, 2015
Genre: high fantasy
Rating: ★

In short: holy bagels, what a book. Gorgeous prose, a hilarious main character, and a beautiful Poland-inspired fantasy setting all make this a win.

Goodreads: “Our Dragon doesn’t eat the girls he takes, no matter what stories they tell outside our valley. We hear them sometimes, from travelers passing through. They talk as though we were doing human sacrifice, and he were a real dragon. Of course that’s not true: he may be a wizard and immortal, but he’s still a man, and our fathers would band together and kill him if he wanted to eat one of us every ten years. He protects us against the Wood, and we’re grateful, but not that grateful.”

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows—everyone knows—that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn’t, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose.

Continue reading

Up Till Dawn Reading Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo


recite-obwtvv

 

recite-gpp2v6

Author: Leigh Bardugo
Series: Six of Crows (#1)
Read: September 29th-30th, 2015
Publisher: Henry Holt and Company
Release Date: September 29th, 2015
Genre: high fantasy
Rating: ★

In short: ding, ding, ding, we have a winner! Morally ambiguous characters, a cracking heist, and a lovely setting, Six of Crows has got it all.

Goodreads: Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Continue reading

The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes


recite-gpp2v6

Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Series: The Fixer (#1)
Read: August 20th, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children’s
Release Date: July 7th, 2015
Genre: mystery, YA
Rating: ★½

In short: such a great book! Fast-paced, riddled with political mystery, and filled with great characters. Reminded me of my beloved Prep School Confidential!

Goodreads: This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars.

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.

Continue reading

Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra & Dhonielle Clayton


recite-gpp2v6

Authors: Sona Charaipotra & Dhonielle Clayton
Series: Standalone
Read: August 16th, 2015
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: May 26th, 2015
Genre: contemporary, mystery
Rating: ★

In short: morally grey characters and great thinking on racism and homophobia, against the backdrop of a cutthroat ballet academy? Sign me up! Even the eh ending didn’t take away from my enjoyment.

Goodreads: Black Swan meets Pretty Little Liars in this soapy, drama-packed novel featuring diverse characters who will do anything to be the prima at their elite ballet school.

Gigi, Bette, and June, three top students at an exclusive Manhattan ballet school, have seen their fair share of drama. Free-spirited new girl Gigi just wants to dance—but the very act might kill her. Privileged New Yorker Bette’s desire to escape the shadow of her ballet star sister brings out a dangerous edge in her. And perfectionist June needs to land a lead role this year or her controlling mother will put an end to her dancing dreams forever. When every dancer is both friend and foe, the girls will sacrifice, manipulate, and backstab to be the best of the best.

Continue reading

Up Till Dawn Reading: Prep School Confidential by Kara Taylor

recite-obwtvv

recite-gpp2v6

Author: Kara Taylor
Series: Prep School Confidential (#1)
Read: February 1st
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Release Date: July 30th, 2013
Genre: contemporary, mystery
Rating: ★★½

 In short: so much better than it looks! Anne Dowling is the prep school Nancy Drew, for sure.

Goodreads: In this breathtaking debut that reads like Gossip Girl crossed with Twin Peaks, a Queen Bee at a blue-blooded New England prep school stumbles into a murder mystery.

Anne Dowling practically runs her exclusive academy on New York’s Upper East Side—that is, until she accidentally burns part of it down and gets sent to a prestigious boarding school outside of Boston. Determined to make it back to New York, Anne couldn’t care less about making friends at the preppy Wheatley School. That is, until her roommate Isabella’s body is found in the woods behind the school.

When everyone else is oddly silent, Anne becomes determined to uncover the truth no matter how many rules she has to break to do it. With the help of Isabella’s twin brother Anthony, and a cute classmate named Brent, Anne discovers that Isabella wasn’t quite the innocent nerdy girl she pretended to be. But someone will do anything to stop Anne’s snooping in this fast-paced, unputdownable read—even if it means framing her for Isabella’s murder.

Continue reading